Faculty News Current News

Lead the Way Durham students create interactive timeline on history of Duke Silent Vigil

Students in HLP Associate Director Lalita Kaligotla's PPS270 Lead the Way Durham course created a digital timeline about the history of Duke's Silent Vigil. After Martin Luther King Jr.'s assassination in 1968, Duke students launched a protest and vigil to commemorate his legacy and demand change to University policies. The students—sophomores Jaliwa Albright, and Jeremy…

read more

Hart Leadership Program convenes planning retreat

In late April, the Hart Leadership Program hosted a retreat to discuss and reflect upon some of its key aspirational missions and work. The conversation included more than 20 stakeholders—faculty, staff and students—from across the University and focused on three broad areas: how HLP engages with its alumni, works in the Durham community, and supports…

read more

Robert Korstad's Oral History of Ann Atwater quoted in WaPost

In 2010, Robert Korstad, historian and HLP professor, conducted on oral history of civil rights Ann Atwater, quotations from which gave life to an article published last week in the Washington Post. In "Ann Atwater’s amazing rise from advocate for the poor to ‘Best of Enemies’ stardom," the Post's Deena L. Brown utilizes the anecdotes…

read more

Deondra Rose to interview U.S. Senator Richard Burr

U.S. Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.) will give a free public lecture Monday, April 1, at Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy. Deondra Rose, assistant professor of public policy and political science, will interview Burr. “Throughout his lengthy career in public service, Sen. Burr has shaped some of our nation's and our state's most important…

read more

, ,

The Chronicle writes about HLP's first event of the semester

The Hart Leadership Program hosted its first event of the semester Monday evening. Titled "Remembering White Supremacy," it featured several members of the Durham City-County Committee on Confederate Monuments and Memorials. The committee's co-chairs Robin Kirk, who is faculty co-chair of the Duke Human Rights Center, and Charmaine McKissick-Melton, an associate professor of mass communications…

read more

1 2 3 7