• Home /
  • Stories /
  • Announcing the winners of the “Why Vote?” Video Challenge

Announcing the winners of the “Why Vote?” Video Challenge

The Hart Leadership Program is excited to announce the results of the first “Why Vote?” Video Challenge.

The goal of the competition was to generate the best 30-second pitches from students that would motivate peers to vote. During the past few weeks, we worked with a team of judges—local filmmaker Kenny Dalsheimer, producer Antonia Fairchild, You Can Vote public relations lead Maddie Marshall, and students Lauren Howell and Bryant Lewis—to evaluate the 14 submissions. Our criteria included creativity, technique, persuasiveness, shareability and overall impression.

Upon evaluation, our thoughtful judges agreed that our first place winner was Niall Schroder for his video “Those Before Us.”

Second place went to James Toscano, Jr.

Third place goes to Matt Wisner.

Honorable mentions go to Parker Martin and the duo of Becca DiLuzio and Matt Silverstein.

Winners received a small cash prize. All videos will be used to promote student voting in advance of the November elections.

A YouTube playlist of all the submissions is available at this link.

[mappress width="100%" height="300" adaptive="true"]